Show All Answers
Applications are now available online. You may submit directly online or contact HDL at (805) 290-4927 to process your application over the phone.
County of Ventura Voter Registration Information
-Hueneme Beautiful-Graffiti Busters (http://www.ci.port-hueneme.ca.us/index.aspx?nid=947)-Friends of the Ray D. Prueter Library (http://porthuenemefriends.wordpress.com/)-Friends of the Bard Mansion (http://www.bardmansion.org/)-Port Hueneme Chamber of Commerce (http://www.huenemechamber.com/)-Council Advisory Commissions (http://www.ci.port-hueneme.ca.us/index.aspx?nid=160)-Police Department VIPs and Neighborhood Watch (http://www.ci.port-hueneme.ca.us/index.aspx?NID=893)
Take a moment to consider your pets this Fourth of July. Unlike people, pets don't associate the noise, flashes, and burning smell of pyrotechnics with celebrations. Pets are terrified of fireworks, and often panic at the loud whizzes and bangs they produce. The busiest day for animal shelters during the year is July 5th.
Both the American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (ASPCA) and PAW have listed ways you can prevent your holiday celebration from turning into a tragedy. Here are some tips on how to keep your pet from panicking this Fourth of July weekend.
"Safe and sane" generally refers to fireworks that do not fly or explode. Fireworks bearing the "safe and sane" logo may be sold from noon June 28 through noon July 6 every year, unless a local ordinance is adopted and is more restrictive, according to the California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection. Currently, the City of Fillmore is the only city in Ventura County which permits “Safe and Sane” fireworks.
Illegal fireworks include the following, according to CAL Fire:
The Consumer Product Safety Commission reports that 240 people on average go to the emergency room every day with fireworks-related injuries in the month around the 4th of July holiday. The most common places to be burned are hands and fingers, with sparklers being the biggest offender, according to a CPSC infographic.
The state of California and the Port Hueneme Police Department have a zero tolerance against illegal fireworks. You will be cited for city ordinance and state law violations. CAL Fire and the State Fire Marshall state, It is illegal to sell, transport, or use fireworks that do not carry the 'safe and sane' seal, as well as possess or use any fireworks in a community where they are not permitted. If convicted, a violator could be fined up to $50,000 as well as sent to jail for up to one year.
It is illegal to sell, transport, or use fireworks that do not carry the 'safe and sane' seal, as well as possess or use any fireworks in a community where they are not permitted. If convicted, a violator could be fined up to $50,000 as well as sent to jail for up to one year.
Over 3,000 nonprofit organizations over California will be selling state-approved fireworks. To do this, they have to apply for a sales permit from local fire department, and then partner with the approved firework companies that set up selling stands. According to state law, firework sales are only allowed between noon June 28th to noon July 6th. The City of Fillmore remains the only city in Ventura County which permits the sales and use of fireworks during these time periods.
A number of professional fireworks shows will be occurring throughout Ventura County. We encourage our citizens to attend the many shows throughout our county including fireworks planned in:
We would like to remind our citizens that the City of Fillmore is the only city you can purchase or use fireworks, of any kind, in the County of Ventura.
1. In every instance where a felony has occurred.2. In every instance where a misdemeanor crime has occurred and the victim desires a report.3. In every case where any force is used against any person by police personnel.4. All incidents involving domestic violence (including verbal incidents).5. All arrests.6. When an officer points a firearm at any person.7. Reported missing persons (regardless of jurisdiction).8. Found property or evidence.9. All incidents involving the death of a human being.10.Traffic collisions above minimum reporting level.11. Injury or damage by City personnel.12. Injury as the result of drug overdose.13. Attempted suicide.14. Injury that is major/serious, where death could result.15. Any incident of juvenile gunshot injuries.
Police reports for incidents other than those listed above are at the discretion of the officer handling the call. Calls for service that do not result in a police report are still documented with a CAD/RMS entry and still contain relevant information about the call. Like police reports, CAD/RMS entries are available to the public.
Sorry, the City of Port Hueneme does not replace dirty/smelly carts for no charge. Please rinse out dirty/smelly carts regularly, using water with bleach or Simple Green.
Bulky items are described as items too large to fit into your regular trash cart. A maximum of 5 items can be picked up at one time and each item is priced individually according to type and/or weight of the item.
Charges are added to the Water/Sewer/Trash bill account for the address where the item is picked up.Large-Item Pick-Up Rates:
Minimum charge for pick-up of bulky items; not to exceed 5 items per pickup. (Effective July 1, 2012)
A. Small chair, full bag of trash, sink, small box (approx. 2'x2'x2'), $18.89 per item weighing less than 25 lbs.
B. Mattress, box spring, water heater, toilet, recliner or medium box (approx. 3'x3'x3'), $25.88 per item weighing less than 40 lbs.
C. Large appliances not including refrigerators, large furniture, couch, carpet roll, bundles of wood, bathtub, or large box (4’x4’x4’), $35.68 per item weighing more than 40 lbs.
D. Refrigerator or freezer (includes freon removal), $41.97 per item.
E. As of July 1, 2011, City Solid Waste is no longer permitted to pick up TV's. To dispose of a television or computer monitor (including CPU) at no charge to Port Hueneme Residents, take the TV or monitor to Del Norte Regional Recyling Center in Oxnard. Please call (805) 385-8060 for more information.
Note: This service is for collection of bulky items. Bulky items are defined in the PHMC as including, but not limited to, discarded large and small appliances, furniture, carpets, mattresses, clothing, and oversized green waste.
Call 986-6650 to schedule a bulky item pick up.
The major concerns to date regarding the presence of medications in surface water bodies have been increased bacterial resistance to antibiotics and interference with growth and reproduction in aquatic organisms such as fish and frogs.
Old medications can be dropped off at the collection center in the lobby of the Port Hueneme Police Department. For further information, check www.nodrugsdownthedrain.org.
PAPER: Newspaper, junk-mail, cardboard, gift wrap, paper-white & colored, paper bags, catalogs, envelopes w/staples, telephone books, cereal/snack boxes. Please NO used tissue or paper towels!GLASS: Soda, juice, beer, wine, jelly, mayo, pickle jars, etc., food & beverage containers. No need to remove labels. Rinse lightly if needed. Please NO mirrors, plate glass, ceramics or Pyrex!PLASTIC: Soda, water, juice, milk, yogurt containers; any color plastic container. Please NO toys or plastic furniture items.METAL: Aluminum cans, foil, empty aerosol cans, tin/bimetal cans, metal food trays. Rinse any of the above items if needed.
Please NO furniture, clothing, wood, plastic bags, styrofoam, dirt or greenwaste in Recycle Carts or Bins.
If no business name is visible, you may contact the Public Works Department at (805) 986-6507 or use the City's Reporting site: Report a Concern
Streets are not swept in the rain, however if it's drizzling, chances are the street sweeper will be coming around. You are allowed to park on the street after the sweeper has passed. If you anticipate a problem with parking on your assigned sweeping day, call City Hall (986-6500) prior to the posted time and provide your vehicle make, color, and license plate number as well as the reason the car cannot be moved.